NORTH LONDON WASTE AUTHORITY

REPORT TITLE: MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY 2020/21

REPORT OF: MANAGING DIRECTOR

FOR SUBMISSION TO: AUTHORITY MEETING

DATE: 25 JUNE 2020

SUMMARY OF REPORT:

This report contains information on the membership of the North London Waste Authority.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Authority is recommended to note the membership of the Authority.

SIGNED: /at Capshak Managing Director

DATE: 15 June 2020

1. INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 The North London Waste Authority (NLWA) comprises two representatives appointed by each of the seven constituent councils and notified to the Authority in writing. No substitute representatives are permitted.
- 1.2 The term of office of appointed members is normally until the next annual meeting of the constituent Council making the appointment, or until notification in writing by a constituent Council of a change in their appointment(s) before their next annual Council meeting.
- 1.3 The ongoing Coronavirus emergency has impacted on the annual meetings held by local authorities. This report outlines the impact on the membership of the Authority.

2. MEMBERSHIP

- 2.1 The Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020 came into force on 4 April 2020. The regulations removed the requirement for local authorities to hold annual meetings in March, April or May 2020. This gave flexibility to local authorities to hold the annual meeting as planned (although remotely), postpone to later in the year or not hold an annual meeting in 2020. Any appointments usually made at an annual meeting can continue until an annual meeting is held.
- 2.2 Most of the constituent boroughs to the Authority appoint their representatives at their annual meeting. All of those have either postponed their annual meeting until later in the year or will not hold an annual meeting in the current year. The existing appointments will be rolled forward. These are:

London Borough of Barnet

Councillor Dean Cohen (C), Councillor Peter Zinkin (C)

London Borough of Enfield

Councillor Chris Bond (L), Councillor Ergin Erbil (L)

London Borough of Hackney

Councillor Rebecca Rennison (L), Councillor Jon Burke (L)

London Borough of Haringey

Councillor Charles Adje (L), Councillor Seema Chandwani (L)

London Borough of Islington

Councillor Rowena Champion (L), Councillor Satnam Gill (L)

London Borough of Waltham Forest

Councillor Clyde Loakes (L), Councillor Rosalind Doré (L)

2.3 At the London Borough of Camden, appointments to the Authority are made by the Leader of the Council. The following appointments were made on 3 June 2020:

London Borough of Camden

Councillor Richard Olszewski (L), Councillor Adam Harrison (L)

3 RISKS

3.1 The six-month rule on attendance has not been amended by the regulations. Therefore, it should be noted that Members who do not attend any meeting of the Authority for a period of six months are disqualified from membership of the Authority. Appointment to the Authority resets a Member's attendance record. Members of the NLWA have been written to separately to advise them of this risk.

3. COMMENTS OF THE FINANCIAL ADVISER

3.1 The Financial Adviser has been consulted in the preparation of this report and has no comments to add.

4. COMMENTS OF THE LEGAL ADVISER

4.1 The Legal Adviser has been consulted in the preparation of this report and has no comments to add.

List of documents used:

Correspondence with Constituent Boroughs relating to membership.

Contact Officer:

Cheryl Hardman
Committee Services
Camden Town Hall
Judd Street
London WC1H 9JE

Telephone: 020 7974 1619

cheryl.hardman@camden.gov.uk