2. Role and Operation of the Authority

2. Role and Operation Authority

- 2.1 North London Waste Authority (NLWA) (the Authority) is the statutory joint waste disposal authority for north London and as such is responsible for the disposal of waste collected by seven north London boroughs (the constituent boroughs):
- The London Borough of Barnet (LB Barnet)
- The London Borough of Camden (LB Camden)
- The London Borough of Enfield (LB Enfield)
- The London Borough of Hackney (LB Hackney)
- The London Borough of Haringey (LB Haringey)
- The London Borough of Islington (LB Islington)
- The London Borough of Waltham Forest (LB Waltham Forest)
- 2.2 The Authority also arranges for the recycling and composting of waste collected by six of the seven constituent boroughs and for the provision of reuse and recycling centres (RRCs).
- 2.3 In addition to the operational functions for managing waste, the Authority works jointly with the north London boroughs to deliver public-facing behaviour change programmes to encourage waste prevention and recycling.



- 2.4 The Authority is the owner of LondonEnergy Ltd (LEL), which operates an energy from waste (EfW) facility and other waste facilities at the Edmonton EcoPark in Enfield. LEL also operates transfer stations in Hornsey Street, Islington and Wembley, Brent. A transfer station at Brent Terrace operated during 2020-21 and closed at the end of the year following mobilisation at the new Wembley transfer station. NLWA has a waste services contract with LEL as well as contracts with other companies for the treatment of mixed dry recyclable materials, waste electrical and electronic equipment, and tyre recycling and disposal.
- 2.5 The Authority has a membership of 14 councillors, with each constituent borough appointing two councillors. Meetings are normally held five times a year, with provision for extraordinary meetings as required. A Programme Committee was established in 2019-20 to oversee progress with the North London Heat and Power Project (NLHPP). The Programme Committee meets in between Authority meetings five times per year.
- 2.6 The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Authority was postponed from the usual June date to September. At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Authority on 24 September 2020, Cllr Clyde Loakes (LB Waltham Forest) was appointed as Chair of the Authority, and Cllrs Peter Zinkin (LB Barnet) and Rebecca Rennison (LB Hackney) as Vice Chairs for the 2020-21 municipal year.
- 2.7 The Authority is mainly funded by a levy it places on its constituent boroughs for waste services and by specific charges for the management of some types of waste.

2.8 The Authority does not employ any staff directly, but makes cross-borough arrangements for support services, involving LB Camden, LB Enfield and LB Haringey. The principal officer support and managers in post as at 31 March 2021 are set out below:

Clerk - Jenny Rowlands (part-time NLWA)

Financial Adviser - Jon Rowney (part-time NLWA)

Legal Adviser – Andrew Maughan (part-time NLWA)

Managing Director and Deputy Clerk - Martin Capstick

Programme Director, North London Heat and Power Project - David Cullen

Head of Strategy and Services - Michael Clarke (interim)

Head of Legal and Governance - Ursula Taylor

Head of Finance - Paul Gulliford

2.9 Structure charts for the officer teams are attached as Annex 1.