NLWA refill event

About Us

North London Waste Authority covers the following seven boroughs: Barnet, Camden, Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, Islington, Waltham Forest.

North London borough logos

We manage waste transportation and disposal on behalf of seven London boroughs in the north London area, serving over two million people. We also manage the recycling collected by six of the seven boroughs. The seven boroughs collect nearly 820,000 tonnes of waste and recycling a year, of which 675,000 tonnes comes from households.

Our aim is to preserve the resources and the environment today and for future generations. We are committed to innovation and careful planning to ensure we manage waste resources effectively and sustainably. We work with residents, schools and businesses in north London to promote waste minimisation and recycling to preserve resources and reduce the amount of waste that has to be disposed of.

Waste disposal services are mostly delivered through a contract with LondonEnergy Ltd - a company which is owned by NLWA. We also manage seven household waste recycling centres on behalf of the boroughs. 

NLWA is governed by 14 members, two councillors from each of the seven north London boroughs. It is these members that make the decisions relating to the disposal of north London's waste. For more information about the role they play, visit our Governance page.

NLWA makes the following cross-borough arrangements for support services:

London Borough of Camden:
Financial Adviser
Legal Adviser
NLWA staff are employed by London Borough of Camden to work for NLWA

London Borough of Enfield:
Environment Adviser

The roles of senior officers are set out in NLWA's Standing Orders.